

Smithsonian Institution

National Museum of African American History and Culture

Delegate Magazine 1980

Extracted on Apr-17-2024 05:07:06

The Smithsonian Institution thanks all digital volunteers that transcribed and reviewed this material. Your work enriches Smithsonian collections, making them available to anyone with an interest in using them.

The Smithsonian Institution (the "Smithsonian") provides the content on this website (transcription.si.edu), other Smithsonian websites, and third-party sites on which it maintains a presence ("SI Websites") in support of its mission for the "increase and diffusion of knowledge." The Smithsonian invites visitors to use its online content for personal, educational and other non-commercial purposes. By using this website, you accept and agree to abide by the following terms.

- If sharing the material in personal and educational contexts, please cite the National Museum of African American History and Culture as source of the content and the project title as provided at the top of the document. Include the accession number or collection name; when possible, link to the National Museum of African American History and Culture website.
- If you wish to use this material in a for-profit publication, exhibition, or online project, please contact National Museum of African American History and Culture or transcribe@si.edu

For more information on this project and related material, contact the National Museum of African American History and Culture. See this project and other collections in the Smithsonian Transcription Center.

[[image]] [[caption]] Lady Ethel Kuykendall Indianapolis, Ind. Area V Director [[/caption]]

[[image]] [[caption]] Lady Marjorie Billingsly Bexley, Öhio Area Director-at-Large [[/caption]]

[[image]] [[caption]] Parliamentarian Lady Marie Stellos, Ph.D. St. Louis, Mo. [[/caption]]

[[image]] [[caption]] Lady Jessie Rice Dallas, Texas Sergeant-at-Arms [[/caption]]

[[image]] [[caption]] Lady Vivian Crawley Cincinnati, Ohio [[/caption]]

[[image]] [[caption]] Lady Carolyn Lutz Northington, Ohio [[/caption]]

[[image]] [[caption]] 2nd Vice President Lady Fredda Witherspoon, Ph.D. St. Louis, Mo. [[/caption]]

The inception of Top Ladies of Distinction, incorporated, a national, humanitarian, educational, interracial organization outgrowth of a meeting held by Mrs. Lyndon Baines Johnson shortly after she and President Johnson moved into the White House, Washington, D.C.

The first meeting to establish policies and governing laws of the organization was held June 4, 1964, Tyler, Texas. The first official meeting was held in February 1965, Houston, Texas with Lady Franchell J. Boswell presiding as the first National President.

Purposes

The purposes of Top Ladies of Distinction, Incorporated, are: • To sponsor a youth organization, Top Teens Of America, in order to provide opportunities of the wholesome development of youth's potentials in every facet of living,

• Enhancement of the status of all women -- members and nonmembers.

· Enrichment of the optimal living of "Senior Citizens,"

• To help keep America beautiful by beautifying the physical and psychological environments in our respective communities.

Thus, TLOD aims to enhance the usefulness in general and advance the ideals, standards, and general welfare of the community through service, by encouraging and promoting such activities that are conducive to community betterment.

Membership



in the second

Program Emphasis: "Looking Within"

121

Top Ladies of Distinction, Incorporated, is composed of distinguished women who are interested in the well-being of all individuals - youth and adults- and in the preservation of values significant to wholesome living. The classes of membership are: Active, Syn-Lod, Life and Honorary, The "Lords," who are husbands and sweethearts of the "Top Ladies," are know as the TLOD Auxiliary.

Syn-Lod

The Annual Convention of the total membership is known as Syn-Lod. It meets in various citities, usually the end of the third week in June. Each Chapter has representation in proportion to its Chapter membership.

Parliamen-Top

The Administrative Board is known as Parliamen-Top, whose membership is the governing body of TLOD. It consists of elected and appointed National Officers, Charter Members, Past Presidents, a Member-at-Large from each Area, and Chairmen of Standing Committees.

Chapters

Chapters are composed of not less than five members. They are located in Six geographical areas of the United States:

Area 1 - Oklahoma, New Mexico, Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana Area II - Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, District of Columbia, New York, New Jersey, Vermont, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine.

CHAPTERS ARE LOCATED INTHE FOLLOWING CITIES: Atlanta, Georgia Austin, Texas Baltimore, Maryland Beaumont, Texas Chicago, Illinois Cincinnati, Ohio Cleveland, Ohio Columbus, Ohio Dallas, Texas Dayton, Ohio Detroit, Michigan Fort Worth, Texas Houston, Texas Indianapolis, Indiana Inglewood, California Jackson, Tennessee Knoxville, Kentucky Little Rock, Arkansas Los Angeles, California Lake Charles, Louisiana Lufkin, Texas Miami, Florida Nacogdoches, Texas Pensacola, Florida Port Arthur, Texas Phoenix, Arizona Prairie View, Texas Queens, New York St. Louis, Missouri San Antonio, Texas Shreveport, Louisiana Texarkana, Texas

Trenton, New Jersey Tyler, Texas Westchester, New York Wilberforce, Ohio

Los Angeles Chapter Officers Lady Barbara Mounts, President Lady Lettye M. Young, 1st Vice President Lady Earlene Hudson, 2nd Vice President Lady Athol Davis, Recording Secretary Lady Charlene Woodson, Treasurer Lady Lois Broadway, Financial Secretary Lady Mae Lee, Historian Lady Carrie Williams, Sgt.-at-Arms Lady Irene Westbrook, Parliamentarian Lady Paula Goines, Chaplain Lady Rosslyn Thompson, Top Ten Dir. Lady Rosslyn Thompson, Top Ten Dir. Lady Doris Newman, Asst. Top Teen Dir. Lady Billie M. Ware, Area VII Director Lady Lois Broadway, Area Top Teen Adv.

Members

Members Lady Majoyce Arterberry Lady Ida Browne Lady Lena Hughes Lady Carolyn Johnson Lady Marie Larsuel Lady JoAnn Yancey Lady Montana McNealy Lady Montana McNealy Lady Juanita Moore Lady Mayme L. Sweeney Lady Addie Thompson Lady Merelean Wilson

Associate Members Lady Rose Marie Ashford Lady Ethel Bradley

Motto: "Shapers Of Change: A Continuing Commitment" Program Emphasis: "Looking Within"

121

Delegate Magazine 1980 Transcribed and Reviewed by Digital Volunteers Extracted Apr-17-2024 05:07:06



Smithsonian Institution

National Museum of African American History and Culture

The mission of the Smithsonian is the increase and diffusion of knowledge - shaping the future by preserving our heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world. Founded in 1846, the Smithsonian is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park, and nine research facilities.Become an active part of our mission through the Transcription Center. Together, we are discovering secrets hidden deep inside our collections that illuminate our history and our world.

Join us! The Transcription Center: https://transcription.si.edu On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmithsonianTranscriptionCenter On Twitter: @TranscribeSI

Connect with the Smithsonian Smithsonian Institution: www.si.edu On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Smithsonian On Twitter: @smithsonian