Viewing page 117 of 256

[[image- black and white photograph of eight women]]

Dorothy Height, "Women of the Year, 1974"

"Women of the Year, 1974," a gala honoring eight contemporary American women of achievement, will be broadcast live from New York's Lincoln Center Monday night, April 8th 10-11 pm EDT over the CBS Television Network. Bess Myerson, former Miss America and New York City consumer chief, now roving magazine correspondent and syndicated newspaper columnist, will preside.
Co-hosts for the gala are New York's Mayor Abraham Beame and Mrs. Beame, and Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Gelb, President of Clairol.
In addition to the awards, the Clairol TV special will feature entertainment personalities and sketches with women as the theme. The entertainers will include Ken Barry, Barbara Feldon, Roberta Flack, Valerie Harper, Arte Johnson, Jack Klugman, Stiller and Meara and Karen Valentine.
The outstanding women who will be honored at the telecast origination from Avery Fisher (Philharmonic) Hall were selected by a jury of famous women from nominees in eight categories suggested by readers of the Ladies' Home Journal. The honorees include:
Public Affairs: Martha W. Griffiths, Michigan Congresswoman since 1935, best known as the sponsor of the Equal Rights Amendment; Business and Professions: Patricia Roberts Harris, activist lawyer and former U.S. Ambassador to Luxembourg; Science and Research: Dixy Lee Ray, first woman Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission; Communications: Barbara Walters, Broadcast Journalist; Creative Arts: Katherine Hepburn, four-time Academy Award winner. (Miss Hepburn will be unable  to appear.) Human Rights: Dorothy Height, president National Council of Negro Women, and director, Center for Racial Justice of the National YWCA; Sports: Billie Jean King, tennis star and champion of women's causes; Community Service: Barbara McDonald creator of self-help day care centers for Rosebud Sioux Indian children in South Dakota, and consultant in Early Childhood Education.
Each woman to be honored will be introduced by a short film showing her at work in her chosen field. Presenting the awards will be other women who have distinctively directed their energies in similar areas. They include Yvonne Braithwaite Burke, Dr. Virginia Apgar, Clare Boothe Luce, Cher, Eunice Shriver, Roberta Flack, and Lenore Romnet. A Tiffany pin-pendant will be awarded each honoree. It is a sculptured gold sunburst, symbolizing women as the center of warmth and energy.
Lenore Hershey, Editor of the Ladies' Home Journal, is executive producer of "Women of the Year, 1974," Joseph Cates is producer, Barbara  Eberhardt, associate producer, and Walter C. Miller, director.

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact