Viewing page 158 of 380

National Medical Association
[[image]] SINCE 1895

[[caption]]NORMA J. GOODWIN, M.D.
Speaker, House of Delegates[[/caption]]

[[caption]]FRANK ROYAL, M.D.
Chairman of the Board of Trustees[[/caption]]

The National Medical Association is a professional organization which represents the 8,000 American Physicians who are Black. The objectives of the National Medical Association are to raise the standards of the medical profession and of medical education; to stimulate favorable relationships among all physicians; to nurture the growth and diffusion of medical knowledge; sponsor the education of the public concerning all matters affecting the public health; to sponsor the enactment of just medical laws; and to eliminate religious and racial discrimination and segregation from American medical institutions.

The Association was formed in 1895 in Atlanta, Ga., and incorporated in St. Louis, Mo., August 31, 1923, under the laws of the State of New Jersey. Originally composed of physicians, dentists and pharmacists, the Association in annual session in 1954 restricted its membership to legally certified physicians only, effective January 1960. The present membership is distributed throughout the United States and its territories and in several foreign countries.

The governing body of the Association is the House of Delegates. The House of Delegates meets annually and has sole power to establish policies and define principles. Delegates to the House are elected by the constituent (State) associations and component (Local) societies. Delegates are proportional in number to the active members in their respective associations. There is also one representative from the Howard University College of Medicine and one from the Meharry Medical College.

The policies and programs of the House of Delegates are carried out between annual meetings by the Board of Trustees, The Councils (Council on Scientific Assembly, Judicial Council, Council on Awards, Council on Medical Education and Hospitals, Council on Financial Aid to Students, Council on Scientific Exhibits, Council on Talent Recruitment, Council on Medical Legislation, Council on Maternal and Child Health) and a number of special committees.

The Annual Scientific Assembly is the Association's meeting for continuing education. The programs of the general meetings of the Scientific Assembly are prepared by the Council on Scientific Assembly of the Association. The program of the section's meetings are prepared by the executive committee of each section, under the general supervision of the council on Scientific Assembly. The Scientific Assembly is divided into 17 specialty sections:
Aerospace and Military Medicine
Basic Science
Community Health
Family Practice
Internal Medicine
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Television and Motion Pictures
The NMA's continuing medical education program is accredited by the American Academy of Family Physicians, and the American Medical Association.

The Association maintains national headquarters at 1720 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. (20036). It publishes a monthly scientific journal entitled The Journal of the National Medical Association and an all-membership news and features publication entitled NMA News.


Transcription Notes:
first image is NMA logo

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact