Viewing page 134 of 516


Top Ladies of Distinction is a national service-oriented organization composed of women of diverse interests and talents who have a continuing commitment to service. Each chapter of Top Ladies of Distinction sponsors a youth group known as Top Teens of America, Inc. and executes programs that are conducive to the status of women, the welfare of senior citizens and community beautification. Top Ladies of Distinction is affiliated with and makes annual contributions on the national, area and local levels to the United Negro College Fund, the National Council of Negro Women, and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

Through its Franchell Boswell Endowment Fund, TLOD awards at its national convention, Syn-Lod, scholarships to seven graduating Top Teens who have exhibited the highest qualities of character, leadership, scholarship and service. Each chapter also awards scholarships to its graduating Top Teens each year.

The 1983-84 TLOD national program focuses on action that will stimulate.
—continued growth of Top Ladies of Distinction and Top Teens of America.
—involvement of TTA in meeting the needs confronting this nation.
—community consciousness.
—political and social action on issues involving youth, senior citizens, the status of women and the welfare of the community.
-enhancement of the educational development of youth.
—good and effective communication within TLOD and with other organizations.
—the pooling of resources within and without the organization for the good of humanity.
—a sincere determination to reach out and improve the quality of life in the United States.

During this year, TTA chapters will be involved in a Peer Education Program in cooperation with the National Foundation—March of Dimes as well as in a program that will ensure that each Top Teen who is registered and votes in each election. Top Teens chapters are setting up peer tutorial programs and political and social action forums.

Lady Dorothy H. Smith
National First Vice Pres.
Wilberforce, Ohio

Lady E. Kathleen Cooke
2nd Vice President
Cincinnati, Ohio

Lady Mamie Daniels
Financial Secretary
Chicago, Illinois

Lady Thelma Y. Thomas
National Treasurer
Lake Charles, La.

Top Ladies of Distinction, Inc.
National Officers

National President
Lady Bobbie Moorehead
3207 Parkwood Drive
Houston, Texas 77021
(713) 747-1541

First Vice President
Lady Dorothy Smith
Central State University
P.O. Box 153
Wilberforce, Ohio 45384
(513) 372-7234

Second Vice President
Lady E. Kathleen Cooke
6748 Blwynne Dr.
Cincinnati, Ohio 45236
(513) 984-8090

Recording Secretary
Lady June A. Birdsong
8817 Forest Green Dr.
Dallas, Texas 75243

Corresponding Secretary
Lady Dorothy F. LaBostrie
3208 Parkwood Dr.
Houston, Texas 77021
(713) 748-6565

Financial Secretary
Lady Mamie L. Daniels
1626 E. 92nd Pl.
Chicago, Illinois 60617
(312) 768-3197

Lady Thelma Y. Thomas
3119 Gen. Marshall
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70601
(318) 475-0784

Director of Operations
Lady Vivian Crawley
3971 Wess Park Dr.
Cincinnati, Ohio 45217
(513) 641-2562

Editor of The Crown
Lady Gwendolyn C. Moore
6514 5th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20012
(202) 723-5083

Lady Dorothy A. Crawford
680 Shamrock Street
Beaumont, Texas 77701

Lady Rose Mary McGowan
8714 Candy
Houston, Texas 77029
(713) 675-1500

Lady Carolyn Utz
7086 Lansdowns Street
Worthington, Ohio 43085
(614) 846-0870

National Top Teens Director
Lady Sharon Carpenter
11333 S. King Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60628
(312) 821-4241

Nominations Chair
Lady Lillian Francis
3344 Southmore Blvd.
Houston, Texas 77004
(713) 522-2528

Director Area I
Lady Hazel B. Webster
3702 Eagle Avenue
Houston, Texas 77004
(713) 748-3641

Director Area II
Lady Barbara Lett Simmons
7211 15th Pl., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20012
(202) 829-7957

Director Area III
Lady Jacqueline H. Parker
254 E. Denell Dr.
Crete, Illinois 60417
(312) 672-9217

Director Area IV
Lady Betty Hicks
17901 N.W. 68th Avenue #R-102
Miami, Florida 33015
(305) 557-5837

Director Area V
Lady Roberta Pickett, Ed.D.
2741 Oakman Blvd.
Detroit, Michigan 48238
(313) 935-4475

Director Area VI
Lady Laura Farwell
1246 S. Curson Avenue
Los Angeles, California 90019
(213) 922-5082

Honorary Members
Lady Barbara Jordan
Austin, Texas

Lady Rose L. Parks
Detroit, Michigan

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact