Viewing page 10 of 89

625 Madison Avenue, New York 22, N.Y. * Phone: Wickersham 2-0537

November 27, 1948

Dear Member:

The thirty-seventh Annual Meeting of the College Arts Association of America will be held in Baltimore, Maryland on January 27 - 28 - 29, 1949.

Our headquarters will be the Hotel Lord Baltimore. Sessions with papers will be devoted to Ancient Mediaeval; Renaissance-Baroque; Oriental; and Modern Art. A special feature of our meetings will be symposia on January 27th and 28th on "The Federal Government and Art", and "The Museum as an Educational Institution". Our meetings will be held at the Johns Hopkins University and the Baltimore Museum of Art.

Arrangements are being made to have special luncheons for members on Thursday and Friday, January 27th and 28th, and the annual banquet will be held on Friday evening, the 28th, at the Hotel Lord Baltimore. Details of the program including names of speakers will be sent to members early in January, together with application blanks for hotel reservations. 

An outstanding event at the Annual Meeting will be a reception held at the Walters Art Gallery at the opening of the largest exhibition of Mediaeval Illuminated Manuscripts ever held in America on Thursday evening. This exhibition has been planned especially to coincide with our Annual Meeting. 

We believe that the program this year will be very interesting and stimulating and we hope very much that you, as a member of the College of Art Association, will find it possible to come. We expect a large attendance and I am sure it will be a worthwhile gathering. 

Sincerely yours, 
Frederick B. Deknatel
Frederick B. Deknatel, President

[[left margin]]
Honorary Directors

Walter W. S. Cook
Charles R. Morey
David M. Robinson
Paul J. Sachs


Frederick B. Deknatel

G. Haydn Huntley

Esther I. Seaver

Mark Eisner

Alfred H. Barr, Jr.
Agnes Rindge Claflin
Sumner McK. Crosby
Lamar Dodd
George H. Forsyth, Jr.
Lloyd Goodrich
Bartlett H. Hayes, Jr.
Henry R. Hope
Henry-Russell Hitchcock
Fiske Kimball
Rensselaer W. Lee
Amy Woller McClelland
Ulrich Middeldorf
Stephen C. Pepper
David M. Robb
Charles H. Sawyer


Charles L. Kuhn, Editor

Henry R. Hope, Editor


Business Manager 
Peter Magill
[[/left margin]]
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact