Viewing page 33 of 89

625 Madison Avenue, New York 22, N. Y. 
Phone: PLaza 5-0537

26 November 1954

Dear Member:

The Annual Meeting will be held in New York City January 27th, 28th and 29th, 1955, with headquarters at the Barbizon Plaza Hotel. We have been fortunate in obtaining rates of $7.00 and 7.50 daily for single rooms with bath and $11.00 and $11.50 daily for double rooms with twin beds and bath.

An announcement of the sessions appears on the front inside cover of the Fall issue of the COLLEGE ART JOURNAL. The session on Art, Criticism and Politics will not be held, as tentatively planned, but we have scheduled a session on Primitive Art. A program on films on art is being arranged, and plans for the sessions on artist-teachers are progressing well. A preliminary program, together with hotel reservation cards will be mailed about December 10th.

The Society of Architectural Historians is meeting concurrently with us, as last year at Philadelphia. Considerable thought has been taken to dovetail the two programs in order to avoid direct conflict of attractions.

Because of the increased cost of conducting the Annual Meetings, the Board of Directors has for the first time found it necessary to charge a registration fee. This has been set at $2.00 per person, which is in line with the charge made by the Society of Architectural Historians. 

The banquet, which will be held in the new dining room of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, will be preceded by a cocktail party.

We realize that certain facets of art history and practice are not represented on the program, but you will agree that it is impossible to represent them all each year. The program for 1956 will be planned at the May meeting of the Board of Directors. If you have suggestions for new panels, or panels that should be repeated from past years, please do not hesitate to write them to Peter Magill prior to April 15th.

Sincerely yours, 
Lamar Dodd
Lamar Dodd, 

P.S. - Attendance at the regular business meeting is strongly urged since a number of important programs are to be discussed. The time has been set for 4:30 p.m., Friday, January 28, 1955.

Honorary Directors

Myrtilla Avery
Walter W. S. Cook
Charles R. Morey
David M. Robinson
Paul J. Sachs


President: Lamar Dodd
Vice-President: Millard Meiss
Secretary: Joseph C. Sloane
Treasurer: John W. Straus

H. Harvard Arnason
Franklin M. Biebel
John P. Coolidge
Walter L. Creese
William S. A. Dale
Gibson Danes
Marian B. Davis
S. Lane Faison, Jr.
George H. Forsyth, Jr.
Stefan Hirsch
Thomas C. Howe, Jr.
A. Hyatt Mayor
Alden F. Megrew
Andrew C. Ritchie
Craig Hugh Smyth
Allen S. Weller


J. Carson Webster, Editor

Henry R. Hope, Editor


Business Manager 
Peter Magill
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact