Viewing page 3 of 156

This transcription has been completed. Contact us with corrections.

[[Caption]] REPRESENTING WGS AWARD WINNING HOUSES are (l. to r.) Barbara Wescott, Fehner House; Sally Parkinson, 4-H House; Ann Stewart, Evans; Karol Conaway, Busey; Ruth Goldschmidt, Indeco; Kathy Tokimoto, Alpha House, and Diana Reo, WGS scholarship chairman. [[/Caption]]

[[Title]] Fehner House Wins WGS Trophy For Fourth Time at Scholarship Tea [[/Title]]

Fehner House Tuesday night received the scholarship trophy in the small house division for the fourth 
straight semester at the WGS Scholarship Tea.

In recognition of their achievement, Fehner House was presented with a special scholarship loving cup in addition to the traditional traveling award. Fehner's average was 4.107.

Indeco won the Group II scholarship trophy with an average of 4.119. Evans Hall received the scholarship trophy in the large house division with an average of 3.849.

Fehner also led the small house division in freshman averages with a freshman average of 3.833. Presby had the highest freshman average in the middle division with a 3.758. Palamar led in the large house division with a freshman average of 3.727.

[[Subtitle]] Most Improvement [[/Subtitle]]

Houses with the greatest scholastic improvement were EKT in the small house division with an improvement of .119, Harmony House in Group II division with an improvement of .280, and LAR-N in the Group III division with a .063 scholastic improvement.

WGS activity awards for houses were given to Alpha House in Group I division, 4H House in Group II division, and Busey Hall in Group III division.

Robert A. Schuiteman, dean of foreign students spoke on the foreign student program on campus.

Women who made 5.0 averages last semester were given white carnation corsages in recognition. They were Constance Ashmore, Juanita Bailey, Shirley Barbel, Betty Blewett, Shirley Brown, Ina Cepenas, Emilie Cunnigham, Sylvia Dean, Joan Emery.

[[Subtitle]] Five Pointers Listed [[/Subtitle]]

Beverly Erlander, Arlene Fitzgerald, Gladys Gjerde, Jean Gnat, Rochelle Goldberger, Deborah Hanson, MIriam Herzog, Lois Hexdall, Norma Hilderbrand, Dale Johnson, Barbara Johns, Carolyn Lamet, Esther Lewitsky, Glenda Lichtenberger, Ruth Lindahl, Mary Matchett, Janet Maynard, Lillian Minasian, Sandra Mozin.

Betty Lou Mungai, Sharron Murray, Masayo Nishimura, Lois Radeke, Alice Robertson, Shirley Seiler, Alice Shoger, Theresa Stine, Mary Trautman, Doris Ullman, Audrey Veazie, Barbara Wescott, Janina Wojciechowska, Benita Needleman, Vickey Foreman and Marsha Balaban.