Viewing page 27 of 134

- 13 -

National Science Foundation's Award for Excellence. He also served as Chair of the State Parks Advisory Board and Vice President of the Pratt Museum which achieved national accreditation during his board tenure. He is a Fellow with the Explorers Club in New York City and the Royal Geographical Society. Mr. McBride has written several articles and is currently co-authoring a book on the "spirituality of Alaska's wilderness coast." Mr. McBride was nominated to the Board by Frank Hoch.

Mr. Kelso F. Sutton: (New York, NY & West Hampton Beach, NY) Mr. Sutton is currently an Executive Vice President of Time, Incorporated with management responsibility for magazine and book publishing. His tenure at Time, Inc. began upon his graduation from Harvard University in 1961. Mr. Sutton is a Director of the South Street Seaport in New York and is active in Harvard's Alumni Association. Mr. Sutton was nominated to the Board by Bob James.

Mr. Jonathan "Jack" Westervelt Warner: (Tuscaloosa, AL) Currently retired, Mr. Warner remains a member of the Board of Directors and Consultant to Gulf States Paper Corporation in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Grandson of the company's founder, Mr. Warner enjoyed a 45-year tenure at Gulf States, serving as President and Chairman of the Board and finally Chairman and CEO (1984-1994). Mr. Warner is a Director of the Culver Educational Foundation at the Culver Military Academy (his alma mater), Member of the Board of Governors at The Decorative Arts Trust, Director of the University Club of Tuscaloosa, Commodore of the North River Yacht Club, and Trustee Emeritus of Washington and Lee University (also his alma mater). As Trustee of the David Warner Foundation, Jack Warner restored an antebellum home/museum in Tuscaloosa in memory of his mother, Mildred Warner. He is a renowned collector of American art; his art holdings, known as the Warner Collection of Gulf States Paper Company, include works by Albert Bierstadt, John James Audubon, and Georgia O'Keeffe.  Mr. Warner was nominated to the Board by the late John Harbert.

Mr. William R. Wiley: (Richland, WA) As Senior Vice President of Science and Technology Policy at Battelle Memorial Institute, Mr. Wiley is leading an initiative to gain a consensus on the roles of government and private sector in the creation of wealth, and to increase the public's return on the government's annual investment in research and development. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of SAFECO Corporation, and Northwest Natural Gas.  He is on the Board of Trustees of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is a member of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the American Society of Microbiology, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Mr. Wiley also serves on the Board of Directors of the University of New Mexico Technology Development Corporation, the Board of Regents of Washington State University, and is Co-Chair and Director of "Forward Washington." He is the author of several scientific articles and books. Mr. Wiley was nominated to the Board by Allison Cowles.

Following is a list of the complete membership, effective Spring 1995, as proposed by the Smithsonian National Board's Nominating Committee and endorsed by that Board:

Mr. Wilbur L. Ross, Jr. - Chair          
Mrs. Jean B. Kilborne - Vice Chair       
Sir Valentine Abdy                       
Mrs. Margaret D. Ankeny
Mrs. Anne T. Bass
Mr. Max N. Berry
Mrs. Jane C. Bradley
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact