Viewing page 30 of 134

- 16 -

Alan K. Simpson, Cody, Wyoming. A member of the Board of Regents, Senator Simpson stems form a long line of Simpsons in public life both in Wyoming and the Nation's capital. Before his election to the U.S. Senate in 1978, he was an attorney in Wyoming, Assistant Attorney General of the state, and a representative in the Wyoming House of Representatives. He is active in a wide variety of other activities, including the boards of the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, the Grand Teton Music Festival, and Fort Phil Kearny, Bozeman Trail Association. He is also a lifetime member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars and a member of the American Legion.

Stanley O. Ikenberry, Chicago, Illinois. Dr. Ikenberry is President of the University of Illinois. A professor of education, he has taught and held administrative positions at Michigan State University, West Virginia University, and Penn State before assuming the presidency at Illinois in 1979. He has served as the Chairman of the American Council on Education, the Association of American Universities, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the Big Ten Council of Presidents, and numerous other organizations. He also serves on several corporate boards.

Freer Gallery of Art Visiting Committee

The Freer Gallery of Art Visiting Committee proposes the appointment of Mr. Roger Covey, Mr. Richard Danziger, and Mrs. Cynthia Helms to its committee. A list of the proposed membership is below and is followed by a biographical description of each nominee.  The following motion is suggested:

VOTED that the Board of Regents appoints Roger Covey, Richard Danziger, and Cynthia Helms to the Freer Gallery of Art Visiting Committee.

The proposed membership of the Committee follows:

Mrs. Jackson (Mary) Burke, New York, NY
Mr. Willard G. Clark, Hanford, CA
Mr. Roger Covey, Chicago, Illinois
Mr. Richard Danziger, New York, NY
Dr. Marvin Eisenberg, Ann Arbor, MI
Dr. Robert Feinberg, Bethesda, MD
Mr. John G. Ford, Baltimore, MD
Mrs. Katharine Graham, Washington, D.C.
Mrs. Cynthia Helms, Washington, D.C.
Sir Joseph E. Hotung, Hong Kong
Mrs. Gilbert (Ann) Kinney, Washington, D.C. and New York
Mr. Roger Lam, Hong Kong
Dr. Sherman E. Lee, Chapel Hill, NC
Mr. Porter McCray, New York, NY
Congressman Norman Y. Mineta, San Jose, CA
Dr. Fredrick W. Mote, Granby, CO
Mrs. Daniel Patrick (Elizabeth) Moynihan, Washington, D.C. and New York
Dr. Martin Powers, Ann Arbor, MI
Dr. John Rosenfield, Cambridge, MA
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact