Viewing page 7 of 18

1430 Northwest 31st Street
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
December 1, 1944

Mr. A. M. Landman, Superintendent
Five Civilized Tribes Agency
Muskogee, Oklahoma

Dear Mr. Landman:

In compliance with your letter of November 28 I am glad to give you the following information about the Indian organization established recently at Denver:

1.  The exact name of the organization is "The National Congress of American Indians."

2.  The personnel of the Executive Committee is:

President- N. B. Johnson, (Cherokee), Claremore, Oklahoma.  District Judge.

V-President- Edward L. Rogers, (Chippewa), Walker, Minnesota.

Secretary- Dan M. Madrano, (Caddo), Ritz Building, Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Treasurer- George Lamotte, (Chippewa), 6104 Woodlawn Street, Chicago 37, Illinois.

Councilman- S.C. DeMers, (Flathead), Polson, Montana.

Councilman- Henry Throssle, (Papago), Phoenix, Arizona.

Councilman- Howard Gorman, (Navajo), Window Rock, Arizona.

Councilman- Dr. Arthur C. Parker, (Seneca), Rochester, New York.

Councilman- D'Arcy McNickle, (Flathead), Washington, D. C.

Councilman- William Firethunder, (Oogalla Sioux), Pine Ridge, South Dakota.

Councilman- Archie Phinney, (Nez Perces), Fort Totten, North Dakota.

Councilman- Luke Gilbert, (Sioux), Cheyenne Agency, South Dakota.

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact