Viewing page 6 of 219


[[underlined]] National Portrait Gallery Commission [[/underlined]]

The Commission recommended that Senator Goldwater be appointed a member and be appointed Chairman of the Commission, whereupon it was

VOTED that the Board of Regents appoints the Honorable Barry Goldwater to the Commission of the National Portrait Gallery for a six-year term and to serve as Chairman, and that the Board appoints Mr. Andrew Oliver to serve as Vice-Chairman.

[[underlined]] Museum of African Art Commission [[/underlined]]

The Commission recommended Messrs. Milton Ratner and Warren Robbins to fill two vacancies on the Commission. The latter recommendation was tabled and it was

VOTED that the Board of Regents appoints Dr. Milton Ratner to the Museum of African Art Commission, to fill out the term of Mrs. Katherine White, as provided in Public Law 95-44.

The Commission membership is listed.

[[underlined]] Gallery for Special Exhibitions--The Thomas M. Evans Hall [[/underlined]]

The Secretary reported the development of a special exhibitions gallery in the National Museum of Natural History/Museum of Man, made possible largely by a timely donation from Mr. Thomas M. Evans. In accordance with the policy of the Board on naming Smithsonian facilities for individuals, it was

VOTED that the Board of Regents, in recognition of the timely generosity of his donation, names the new temporary exhibition gallery in the National Museum of Natural History/Museum of Man as the Thomas M. Evans Hall.

[[underlined]] Proposed Award of the Langley Medal to Robert T. Jones and Charles Stark Draper [[/underlined]]

Honoring the memory of Samuel P. Langley, Smithsonian Secretary and aeronautical pioneer, the Medal is awarded for "meritorious investigations in connection with the sciences of aeronautics and astronautics." Former recipients are listed. Recognizing Dr. Jones' outstanding work in aeronautical engineering at the Ames Aeronautical Laboratory in California and Dr. Draper's development of navigational and guidance systems at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, it was

VOTED that the Board of Regents, recognizing the manifold contributions of Dr. Robert T. Jones and Dr. Charles Stark Draper to research in the aeronautical and astronautical sciences, hereby awards the Langley Medal to each individual.
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact