Viewing page 108 of 196

[[image - black & white photograph of Wiley Thurber Armstrong]]
[[caption]]President Wiley Thurber Armstrong[[/caption]]

DR. WILEY THURBER ARMSTRONG, 65, of Rocky Mount, North Carolina, was the unanimous choice of the House of Delegates as President-Elect of the National Medical Association at its 74th Annual Convention in San Francisco, California, on August 13, 1969. He will assume office as 71st President of the Association at its Diamond Jubilee Convention in Atlanta, Georgia, in August 1970. Dr. Armstrong is the only member of the NMA ever to have been elected to its three highest posts — Speaker of the House of Delegates, 1961-62; Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1964-68; President, 1970-71. He also served as a member of the Board of Trustees, 1962-64, and was Secretary of the House of Delegates, 1959-61. He is widely known to the NMA membership as the perennial Secretary-Treasurer of the Old North State Medical Society, a post which he has held since 1954, after being President of this organization in 1952.

A native of  Rocky Mount, Dr. Armstrong received his early education in its public schools. He received the B.S. from Shaw University in 1929 and did postgraduate work at New York, Columbia and Howard Universities. Meharry Medical College awarded him the M.D. in 1944. He has been associated in medical practice with his brother, Dr. Leonard P. Armstrong (M.D., Leonard, '13).

76th Annual Convention of the National Medical Assn.

Sheraton Hotel

August 8-13, 1971

NMA Officers

President, W.T. Armstrong, M.D., Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Immediate Past President, James M. Whittico, Jr., M.D.,St. Louis, Missouri
First Vice President, George H. Lane, M.D., Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Second Vice President, Leslie E. Becker, M.D., Kansas City, Kansas
Third Vice President, Edward H. Hale, M.D., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Executive Secretary, Eric G. Mitchell, M.D., Norfolk, Virginia
Executive Secretary Emeritus, John T. Givens, M.D., Norfolk, Virginia
Treasurer, Leslie L. Alexander, M.D., Brooklyn, New York
Treasurer Emeritus, E. T. Taylor, M.D.. St. Louis, Missouri

House of Delegates

Speaker, Charles C. Bookert, M.D., Clairton, Pennsylvania
Vice Speaker, Erman W. Edgecombe, M.D., Washington, D.C.
Secretary, Andrew L. Thomas, M.D.,. Chicago, Illinois
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact