Viewing page 181 of 252

[[image - full-page black and white photograph of Lillian Benbow]]
[[caption]] Mrs. Lillian P. Benbow 15th National President Delta Sigma Theta, Inc. [[/caption]

[[image - Delta Sigma Theta emblem]]

Delta Sigman Theta, Inc., is a 60,000 member public service organization with 427 chapters throughout the United States and in the Republics of Haiti and Liberia. At their convention in Houston, Texas, 1971, Attorney General Richard Kleindienst announced a half million dollar contract for Delta to participate in a rehabilitation program for women offenders. Delta has a Five Point Program Thrust which includes

1. Educational Development
2. Economic Development
3. Community and International Involvement
4. Housing and Urban Development
5. Mental Health

The officers are: President, Mrs. Lillian P. Benbow, Detroit, Michigan; 1st Vice President, Mrs. Thelma Daley, Baltimore, Md.; 2nd Vice President, Miss Patricia Milligan, Washington, D.C.; Secretary, Dr. Gloria Scott, Greensboro, N.C.; Treasurer, Mrs. Betty Williams, Los Angeles, Calif. 

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact