Viewing page 206 of 256

[[image - black and white photograph of a man holding a plaque; a woman wearing a fur scarf and a hat stands next to him]]
[[caption]] The National Association of Media Women, Inc., an interracial organization of women in the communications industry was founded in 1965 in New York City by Mrs. Rhea E. Callaway and eleven Founding members. Since that time the organization has grown to nine chapters in Chicago, Los Angeles, Detroit, Atlanta, New Orleans, Dallas-Fort Worth, Kansas City, Missouri and Cincinnati. 
National officers elected for a two-year term at the Kansas City convention are: LOIS ALEXANDER LANE, New York, president; ELLA K. MAYS, Los Angeles, first vice-president; PHY STEPHENS, Detroit, second vice-president; LOUISE MEADOWS, Youngstown, financial secretary; and MATTIE SMITH COLIN, Chicago, treasurer. Also elected as Lay members of the National Board were: XERNONA CLAYTON, Atlanta, DORA GOUGH, Detroit, ETHEL L. PAYNE, Chicago, DORIS SAUNDERS, Chicago, and CORDELIA YOUNG, Los Angeles.
The 9th annual convention will be held in New Orleans during the third week in October, 1974. President of the New Orleans Chapter is Mrs. Sheryl Neeley.

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact