Viewing page 296 of 356

52nd Annual Convention 
October 2-6, 1979

Fairmont Hotel
New Orleans, L

Directors of the National Bankers Association

[[caption]]Charles M. Reynolds, Jr., President, Atlantic National Bank, Norfolk, Va.[[/caption]]

[[caption]]Mrs. J. W. Taylor, Treasurer, of National Bankers Association[[/caption]]

[[caption]]I. Owen Funderburg, President, Citizens Trust Bank, Atlanta, Georgia[[/caption]]

[[caption]]George Brokemond, President, Highland Community Bank, Chicago, Ill.[[/caption]]

[[caption]]Mr. Leon E. Evans, Jr., President, Community Bank of Nebraska[[/caption]]

[[caption]]James Purnell, President, Liberty Bank of Seattle Seattle, Washington[[/caption]]

[[caption]]Mr. Floyd W. Alston, Vice President, First Pennsylvania Bank[[/caption]]


The National Bankers Association, a non-profit organization incorporated in 1972 as a national trade association for minority-owned/controlled banks, was founded in 1927 as the National Negro Bankers Association. (Changed to NBA in 1948). With a charter membership of twelve banks, the Association's initial purpose has best been described by its co-founder and first president, Major Richard R. Wright: "To promote uniformity of action, to obtain the practical benefits to be derived from personal acquaintance, and the discussion of subjects relating to financial and commercial usage."

During the 51 years of its existence, and through the leadership of its 17 presidents, NBA has remained committed to these objectives.

The dynamic growth of minority-owned banking within the past decade has, however, changed the character of the NBA - if not its commitments. The growth in the number and size of minority-owned or controlled commercial banks evidenced throughout the United States necessitated the establishment of a national program with a national office to effectively coordinate and implement the Association's activities.

At the time of NBA's establishment of its national office, the membership consisted of twenty banks with assets of $207 million and total deposits of $185 million. Since then the membership has expanded to over seventy-one minority-controlled banks with assets in excess of $1.2 billion.

The Association accepts as members any national or state-chartered bank or trust company which shares the common interests and concerns of the Association. The 60 members, located in 29 states and the District of Columbia, represent most of the minority-owned banks in the nation. Associate members, who are minority individuals holding management positions in major banks, are also accepted on an individual basis by the Association.

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact