Viewing page 131 of 292

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. [[image - logo]]

On behalf of Zeta Phi Beta, a community conscience action oriented sorority, I am taking this opportunity to extend a most sincer [sincere] invitation to you to attend a celebration of our 66th anniversary boule to convene July 27th-July 31st nineteen eighty-six at the Marriot [Marriott] Hotel in Anaheim, CA.

I'm officially declaring the nineteen eighty-six boule year to be celebrated as the "Year of The Family," with an "Accent On Youth," bringing together all members of the Zeta Family and our friends upon which we were founded. As we endeavor to continue to provide meaningful service to our respected communities we also look forward to this opportunity to hear renowned national speakers and work shop specialists who will assist us in leadership development, planning, programming, career planning, and the development of health and life sustaining techniques. We are hoping for one of the most exciting, auxilirating boules ever. Looking forward to seeing you in Anaheim, CA.

Dr. Edith V. Frances
Grand Basileus

Dr. Edith V. Francis Grand Basileus 


The sorority sponsors a national juvenile delinquency project which functions throughout the United States. Different aspects have been highlighted through special projects such as: Foster Home Care, Youth Conferences, Vocational Guidance Clinics, Thinker Shops, and the development of youth groups. There is a six-point African project jointly sponsored by the chapters in America and Africa. In such a way, better understanding has been developed between the two continents.
As a non-profit corporation incorporated in Washington, D.C. and also in the state of Illinois, the sorority is supported only by annual dues paid by its members for operating expenses. Scholarships are donated annually from a special fund contributed by chapter members.

Since Soror Arizona Cleaver, there have been fifteen national (or international) presidents: Soror Myrtle Typer-Faithful, Joanna Houston-Ransom, Nellie Buchanan, Dr. S Evelyn Lewis, Ruth Tappe-Scruggs, Fannie R. Givens, Violette Anderson, Nellie Rogers, Edith Lyons, Blanche Thompson, Lullelia W. Harrison, Dr. Nancy Bullock McGhee, Dr. Deborah Cannon Wolfe and Mildred C. Bradham.

Next Regional Meeting 
July 27-31, 1986
Marriot Hotel
Anaheim, CA

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact