Viewing page 5 of 25

This transcription has been completed. Contact us with corrections.



Board of Trustees
Chairman of the Board
Eugene W. Kettering
Charles F. Kettering Foundation
President-James W. Jacobs
Frigidaire Div., General Motors Corp.
1st Vice Pres.-Gerald E. Weller
The Standard Register Company
2nd Vice Pres.-Larry E. O'Neil
L.E. O'Neil and Associates
3rd Vice Pres.-John A. Lombard
J. A. Lombard Company
Secretary-Gregory C. Karas
Karas and Eilerman, Attorneys
Treasurer-Robert Barth
The National Bank of Dayton
C.M. "Pat" Barnes
Dayton Tire & Rubber Company
Donald H. Battin
International Telephone and Telegraph Corp.
Don L. Crawford
Commissioner, City of Dayton
John P. Fraim, Jr.
L.M. Berry & Company
Gerald H. Leland
Ledex, Inc.
John H. Murphy
Dynamic Displays, Inc.
Louis F. Polk
Bendix Corporation
Robert J. Simons
Simons Cadillac, Inc.
John P. Turner, Jr.
General Electric Company
Charles W. Whalen, Jr.
Senator, State of Ohio
Louis Wozar
Tait Manufacturing Company
 Board of Nominations
Major General Robert G. Ruegg
Aeronautical Systems Division, USAF
Stanley C. Allyn
National Cash Register Company
J.L. Atwood
North American Aviation, Inc.
Milton A. Caniff
Creator of Steve Canyon
Frederick C. Crawford
Thompson-Ramo-Wooldridge, Inc.
Donald W. Douglas, Sr.
Douglas Aircraft Company, Inc.
Dr. Charles S. Draper
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Courtlandt S. Gross [[margin note]]"check" mark[[/margin note]]
Lockheed Aircraft Corporation
W. Randolph Lovelace, II, M.D.
Air Force Association
James S. McDonnell, Jr.
McDonnell Aircraft Corporation
Fred F. Marshall
Cedarville, Ohio
Robert W. Martin, Jr.
McGraw-Hill Publishing Co., Inc.
John B. Montgomery
Daystrom, Inc.
Mundy I. Peale
Republic Aviation Corporation
General Edwin W. Rawlings
USAF Retired, General Mills, Inc.
Major General Alden K. Sibley
United States Army
Mobility Command
Igor I. Sikorsky
Sikorsky Aircraft Div.
United Aircraft Corp.
James H. Straubel
Air Force Association
Bernard L. Whelan
Fairfield, Connecticut
General Thomas D. White
USAF Retired, Washington D.C.
Gill Robb Wilson
Ziff-Davis Publishing Company

Secretary to Executive Committee & Board of Nominations

Norvell Clarkson
Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce


December 6, 1965

Mr. Glen A. Knabenshue
5542 Shoup
Woodland Hills, California   91364

Dear Mr. Knabenshue:

In response to a request from Mrs. Florence J. Kestle, the Aviation Hall of Fame is attempting to arrange for your transportation to Dayton to attend the ceremonies when your father, A. Roy Knabenshue, is enshrined in the Aviation Hall of Fame.
[[pencil]]Tickets are confirmed at TWA here[[/pencil]]
We are trying to secure transportation for you on TWA Flight #20 leaving Los Angeles at 10:30 p.m. on Wednesday, December 15 and arriving at Dayton at 6:51 a.m. December 16. Return is planned on December 17 on TWA Flight #319 leaving Dayton at 3:45 p.m. for Chicago and TWA Flight #771 leaving Chicago at 5:00 p.m., arriving at 7:05 p.m. in Los Angeles.

You should confirm your intended flight with TWA in Los Angeles. We will mail the ticker to you if we can negotiate its purchase.

We are also still attempting to arrange other transportation on military aircraft for you.

Please advise me immediately if you plan to attend the ceremonies. If I do not hear from you by December 10th, we will cancel all transportation plans.

[[signature]]James W. Jacobs[[/signature]]
James W. Jacobs

Copy to - Mrs. Florence J. Kestle

[[pencil]]223 2161 512 837-[[/pencil]]

Board of Nominations (Continued)
Major General Orvil A. Anderson
USAF Retired.
Air Force Historical Foundation
James W. Austin
Northeast Airlines, Inc.
Charles E. Beard
Braniff Airways, Inc.
Mrs. Olive Ann Beech
Beech Aircraft Corporation
William B. Bergen
Martin Company Div.,
Martin Marietta Corp.
Nick Bez
West Coast Airlines, Inc.
Hal N. Carr
North Central Airlines, Inc.
Thomas H. Davis
Piedmont Airlines
Malcolm P. Ferguson
The Bendix Corporation
Thomas V. Jones
Northrop Corporation
Keith H. Kahle
Central Airlines, Inc.
General Curtis E. LeMay
Chief of Staff,
United States Air Force
John H. Magoon, Jr.
Hawaiian Airlines, Inc.
Roy E. Marquardt
The Marquardt Corporation
J. Gilbert Nettleton, Jr.
International Telephone & Telegraph Corp.
W.A. Patterson
United Air Lines, Inc.
Robert W. Prescott
The Flying Tiger Line, Inc.
Fred H. Rohr
Rohr Corporation
T. Claude Ryan
Ryan Aeronautical Company
Robert F. Six
Continental Air Lines, Inc.
Dwane L. Wallace
Cessna Aircraft Company

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact