Viewing page 43 of 123


The International Aeronautical Sporting Committee and the Council of the Federation Aeronautique Internationale met in June 1982 in Paris, France. Ev Langworthy represented the National Aeronautic Association and reported upon his return that a record number of United States citizens had been nominated for prestigious International Aero Space Awards by the FAI for 1981. The awards will be made by the General Conference in Brussels in September, 1982. They are as follows:

John W. Young -- Gold Space Medal -- This medal is of equal standing with the Gold Air Medal and is awarded annually to the astronaut who has achieved an outstanding performance in space.
Joe H. Engle -- J.A. Gagarin Gold Medal -- This medal is annually awarded to the space pilot who, in the previous year, has accomplished the highest achievement in Man's conquest of Space.
Ben L. Abruzzo -- John W. Young -- De La Vaulx Medal -- These medals are awarded to holders of recognized absolute world records set during the year.
Richard G. Rutan -- Louis Bleriot Medal -- A maximum of three of these medals is awarded each year respectively to the holders of the highest records for speed, altitude, and distance in a straight line reached in the previous year. Dick Rutan's accomplishment was in the distance category.
John A. Shoecraft --Montgolfier Diploma -- Awarded for the best sporting performance in the previous year in Gas Ballooning.
J. W. Young -- R. L. Crippen -- J. H. Engle -- R. H. Truly -- V. M. Komarov Diploma -- This Diploma is awarded annually to astronauts, members of multi-seater crews, for outstanding achievements in the field of exploration of outer space.
Gar Williams -- Phoenix Diploma -- This Diploma may be awarded for the best reconstruction or restoration of a vintage (more than 30 years old) aircraft achieved by an individual amateur.
James Greenwood -- Earl Hansen -- Vic Powell -- Paul Tassandier Diploma -- This Diploma is awarded to those who are served the cause of Aviation in general, and private and sporting aviation in particular by their work, initiative, and devotion.

Two Honorary Group Diplomas were also recommended. These Diplomas annually reward groups of people who have greatly contributed to the progress of Aviation or Astronautics during the preceding year. In 1981 U.S. Groups recognized were as follows:

        Aeronautics -- Edwards AFB
        Astronautics -- Johnson Space Center

These awards will be presented at the FAI General Conference to be held in Brussels, Belgium, September 12-19, 1982.
[picture of a flight]


Unique NASA aircraft and supersonic swing-wing Navy jet fighters will be part of the 30th Annual EAA International Fly-in Convention and Sport Aviation Exhibition at Wittman Field in Oshkosh, WIsconsin.
The July 31st through August 7th Convention is EAA's "Salute to NASA Aeronautics." NASA plans to provide exciting echibits, interesting forums and exotic aircraft. NASA's AD-1 oblique-wing aircraft will be one of the highlights of the flight line. The AD-1, sometimes called the scissors wing, flys at low speeds with its wings in the conventional position. However, at high speeds, the wings pivot to an oblique angle of up to 60 degrees. Research indicates that the unusual wing configuration reduces drag and increases speed and range without an increase in fuel consumption.
The U.S. Navy will be flying Grumman F-14 Tomcats to the EAA Convention, The carrier-based aircraft have computer-controlled, variable-geometry wings which swing back into the delta position for high-speed maneuvers.
Wittman Field becomes the world's busiest airports as EAA salutes NASA Aeronautics during the world's largest and most exciting aviation event.


The Soaring Society of America's Fourth Annual Homebuilders will take palce over the Labor Day Weekend, from September 3 to 6. Due to the Workshops tremendous popularity, the event has been expanded this year to cover three locations. The Western Workshop will be held in Tehachapi, California, at Skylark North/Fantasy Haven Gilderport; the Central Workshop will be held at the Texas Women's University in Denton, Texas; and the Eastern Workshop will take place at the National Soaring Museum in Elmira, New York.
A key feature of the 1982 Homebuilders Workshop will be the culmination of the Homebuilt Sailplane Design Contest. The 10 finalists will be present at the Western Workshop to compete in the Design Contest Fly-Off and display their completed sailplanes. Design entries will be judged on buildability (quick to build), low cost, performance, suitability for construction in wood, metal, or plastic, and aesthetics.
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact