Viewing page 6 of 520


A letter from Dr. A. H. Compton announced his inability to attend.
Senator Barkley and Senator George were unable to attend due to service on the Committee relative to the Pearl Harbor investigation.

The Secretary stated that at the last meeting the Board passed a resolution instructing the Executive Committee to discuss the future policies for the Institution, and empowering the Chancellor to appoint a distinguished committee to consider this matter and to report to the Board the action taken.

After some consideration Mr. Delano, as Chairman of the Executive Committee, addressed a letter to Dr. Frank B. Jewett, President of the National Academy of Sciences, asking the advice of the Academy as to suitable names from which an advisory group might be requested to serve. In due course the Chancellor appointed a committee of seven from a list submitted by Dr. Jewett, as follows:

Dr. William J. Robbins, Director, The New York Botanical Garden, New York, New York (Chairman).

Dr. Walter S. Adams, Mount Wilson Observatory, Pasadena, California.

Dr. L. P. Eisenhart, Executive Officer, American Philosophical Society, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Zay Jeffries, Vice President, General Electric Company, Pittsfield, Massachusetts.

Dr. A. V. Kidder, Chairman of the Division of Historical Research, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Dr. F. W. Reichelderfer, Chief, Weather Bureau, U. S. Department of Commerce, Washington, D.C.

Dr. George Gaylord Simpson, Chairman of the Department of Geology and Paleontology, American Museum of Natural History, New York, New York.

Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact