Viewing page 332 of 468

SEPTEMBER 1953           7

Model Nationals Entered By 1,200

The 22d Annual National Models Airplane Championships, sponsored by The National Exchange Club and sanctioned by NAA's Academy of Model Aeronautics, drew one of the largest entry lists in the competition's history and were hailed generally as among the more successful events of their kind. 

More than 1,200 model enthusiasts from almost every one of the 48 states and from some of the Territories converged upon Willow Grove (Pa.) Naval Air Station for the big meet, which ran from Sunday, July 26, through Sunday, August 2.

Spectator numbered in the thousands each day, with 80,000 turning out on Saturday, August 1, when the Navy's famed jet precision team,  the "Blue Angels," put on a special demonstration in mid-afternoon. An equally large crowd was anticipated the final day of the meet, but adverse weather not only cut the attendance but also caused interruptions of some of the events.

National championship winners were as follows: 
Grand Champion -- William White, Jr., Sacramento, California.
Junior Champion -- William White, Jr.
Senior Championship -- (Tie) Ronald Poltzke, Detroit, Mich., and Stuart Savage, Bayport, Long Island, N.Y.
Open Championship -- Willard Blanchard, Norfold, Va.
Team Championship -- Northern California Dusters.

Trophies were given for the first three places in each competitive event, and medals went to fourth and fifth place winners. Awards were presented at a Victory Banquet on Sunday night, August 2.

A full list of the first five contestants in each event and their times or speeds appears in Vol. XVI, No. 5, of Model Aviation, published by the Academy of Model Aeronautics, 1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W., Washington 6, D.C.

Detroit Show Was A Fiscal Success

The Aero Club of Michigan reported recently that its experiment in staging a big air show without any racing or stunting had paid off, and a new trend was thus established for future air events. 

The show, sponsored by the NAA affiliate was the International Aviation Exposition, held July 9-12 at Detroit Wayne Major Airport. Total cost of the four-day show was $221,343.65, and receipts from ticket sales, concessions and display space totaled $224,231.60, for a net profit of $2,887.95.

Total attendance, including free admisions [[admissions]] and guests, was 146,279.

This year's show was the first major one ever to be run off without racing and/or stunt flying as crowd-drawing attractions. Emphasis was on ground exhibits and non-spectacular flight demonstrations, and the reception it was accorded assured not only that there will be another Exposition next year, but set a patern [[pattern]] for the kind of show it will be. 

Major expenses of the show included: military participation, $47,173; insurance, $18,125; printing, $14,145; sales cost, $12,477; seating, $12,360; steel and canvas for the exhibit area, $12,176; advertising, $10,631; labor, $9,195; meetings, $6,573, and special guests, $4,136.

Carsey Re-Elected By Soaring Group

Jon D. Carsey was re-elected president of the Soaring Society of America, Inc., at the organization's annual business meeting at Elmira, N.Y. Mr. Carsey is a vice president of the National Aeronautic Association, with which the SSA is affiliated.

Other officers of the soaring group are: Dr. Wolfgang Klemperer, honorary vice president; Ted Nelson, west coast v.p.; Capt. Ralph S. Barnaby, east coast v.p.; Paul A Schweizer, secretary, and E.J. Reeves, treasurer.

Directors elected to three-year terms are: Messrs. Carsey and Reeves, Howard E. Burr of Elmira, N.Y.; Dr. Paul B. MacCready of New Haven, Conn.; Lawrence Gehrlein, Sr. of Erie, Pa.; and Paul F. Bikle of Edwards, California.

Two-year directors are: Dr. August Raspet, Mississippi State College; Ben Shupack, Malverne, N.Y.; Gus Briegleb, Adelanto, Calif.; Fritz Compson, Miami, Fla., Dr. Klemperer and Capt. Barnaby.

Elected to one-year terms were: William E. Coverdale, Jr., Chattanooga, Tenn.; Eugart Yorian, Memphis, Tenn.; Lt. Col. Floyd J. Sweet, Arlington, Va.; William S. Evans, Jr., La Mesa, Calif.; and Messrs. Schweizer and Nelson. 

Directors-at-large are: P. Heasley Entz, Seattle, Wash.; Lynd Daggett, Drexel Hill, Pa.; J. S. Charles, Atlanta, Ga., and Pat Mulloy, Laurel, Miss.

New England Club Re-Elects Art Riley

Arthur Riley, Boston aviation writer, was re-elected president of the Aero Club of New England. Other officers elected were: 1st v.p., Richard Berenson; treasurer (re-elected), Ralph Eastman; secretary (re-elected), Mrs, Charlotte Kelly; program v.p., Richard Bicknell, public relations v.p., Charles Collins, membership v.p., Eugene Kelly, and annual dinner v.p., John Donnelly.

TYPICAL SCENE at the National Model Airplane Championships at Willow Grove, Pa., in August is this photo showing three contestants from the south advising Larry Parkerson (with visored cap) of Gastonia, N.C., as he readies the model which he later flew at 113 miles per hour to win third place in the A Speed Junior event. Fellow entrants are, left to right, Harris Grimes, Bob McConnell, and Bob Elliott, all of Atlanta, Ga.
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact