Viewing page 5 of 33

Subdivisions on Linguistic Basis [underlined]

The Indians of Shoshonean family are divided on the basis of speech into four great branches, sub-divided into eight groups.

The Moki or Hopi Pueblo Indians of northern Arizona constitute one branch (Pueblo).  This is more divergent from any of the others than these are from one another, but still is clearly Shoshonean.

The second branch (Plateau) includes all the Shoshoneans of the great plateau region and is by far the largest division territorially.  It is divided into three principal groups.

A, the Ute-Chemehuevi group, including the Ute of Utah and Colorado, the Paiute of southern Nevada (not those of northwestern Nevada), the Chemehuevi, at least one tribe in the Tehachapi mountains in California, and certain of the Indians called Bannock.

B, the Shoshoni-Comanche, including the Shoshoni of Wyoming, of southern Idaho, northernmost Utah, and northeastern Nevada; also the Comanche.

C, the Mono-Paviotso, including all the Shoshoneans of the Sierra Nevada north of Kern river, most of whom are generally known as Monachi or Mono; the so-called Monachi or Paiute of Owens Valley, east of the Sierra in California; the so-called Paiute or Paviotso of Walker river and northwestern Nevada; the Shoshoneans of eastern Oregon (Hale's Wihimasht and his Shoshonie); and probably certain of the tribes in Idaho.  The affliations of the Panamint Indians
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact