Viewing page 26 of 104

[[preprinted]] 46 [[/preprinted]]
still in the midst of his career.  That A. had stated to himself that he had come to an age where he considered his further research work very doubtful.  Finally vote was taken, Toch not voting result for
Behr - 11
Acheson 9
Toch as chairman did not vote  Schweitzer before, during and after the meeting showed by his utterances his usual lack of tact.  I believe the vote was as follows:
For Acheson
[[end page]]
[[start page]]
[[preprinted]] 47 [[/preprinted]]
and I do not know the two other votes.  I felt very dissatisfied.  Last year Hereshoff got the votes because those who wanted to vote for Acheson where persuaded to vote for [[underlined]] Hereshoff [[/underlined]] because it was declared that Acheson would get the medal anyway this year and then even Hereshoff only got two votes plurality.
Last year the medal went to a man of the Chemical Trust this year it goes to one of the Corn Products Trust.
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact