Viewing page 2 of 89


[[underlined]] THE TRUSTEES.[[/underlined]]

On October 6, 1941, one of our trustees, Dr. Louis Faugeres Bishop, died having served as a member of the Board from November 25, 1929 when he succeeded by appointment to the place made vacant by the death of his distinguished relative, James B. Ford.  The Grantor, Dr. George G. Heye, duly appointed Mr. George C. Kingsley as a trustee of this Institution to fill the vacancy caused by Dr. Bishop's death and Mr. Kingsley took up his duties as trustee at the meeting of the Board held on December 2, 1941.  With this one change the roster of the Board of Trustees continued unchanged throughout the year and is now as follows:

Henry Lee Ferguson, Esq.
William Shirley Fulton, Esq.
R. F. Haffenreffer, Jr., Esq.
Dr. George G. Heye
Archer M. Huntington, Esq.
Joseph Keppler, Esq.
Willard V. King, Esq.
George C. Kingsley, Esq.
Thomas Roberts, Esq.
Frederic K. Seward, Esq.
Blair S. Williams, Esq.
John S. Williams, Esq

[[underlined]] TRUSTEES' MEETINGS.[[/underlined]]

The annual meeting of the Board of Trustees was held on May 6, 1941.  At this meeting the following officers were elected:
Chairman: - Dr. George G. Heye
Vice-Chairman: - Joseph Keppler, Esq.
Member of the Executive Committee to serve until the annual meeting of 1944: - Frederic K. Seward, Esq.
Please note that the language and terminology used in this collection reflects the context and culture of the time of its creation, and may include culturally sensitive information. As an historical document, its contents may be at odds with contemporary views and terminology. The information within this collection does not reflect the views of the Smithsonian Institution, but is available in its original form to facilitate research. For questions or comments regarding sensitive content, access, and use related to this collection, please contact